Episode 3: A Wee Bit of Yarn Fondling

Introduction:

  • Emily
    • Akamillie on Ravelry
    • Akamillie907 on instagram
    • Ravelry group: AndersMill Knits Podcast
  • Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! to Wendy from Knit One Heart Too Podcast for mentioning me and directing people over to the podcast!
  • Thank you to our good Friend: Hotpinksocksreview for also mentioning us so kindly on her Instagram Feed  You Rock Girl!

Reminder on how the podcast is set up: I use counselor terms for the segments;)

  • Review Notes (week in review)
  • Case Notes (finished objects)
  • In Session (works in progress)
  • Treatment Planning (needle adjacent projects)
  • In my Tool Box (Acquisitions)
  • Consultation (little blurb around counseling/or my thought process for the week)

Review Notes

We found out this last week or so that the rent on the rinky dink apartment that we are in is going up by an astronomical amount. Needless to say we were outraged and in now way are we willing to pay the new price tag.

So we immediately began searching for a new place to live. We toured about 11-13 different apartment complexes in five days (aaaaghhhhh!). In the end we were successful and we will be moving at the end of this month! Exciting and exhausting all at once!

 

Case Notes

  • HO #1 (half finished object): Bow Tie by the Knit Picks Team. Yarn: Jill Draper Makes Stuff Esopus in the Sap[hire colorway.  Needles: Knitters Pride on size 1US/2.25mm –this is the bow tie that my dog will be wearing at the wedding in his official capacity of ring bearer.
  • HO #2 Wedding Socks: Blueberry waffles socks by Sandy Turner turned the heel on the first sock. Used my Lolo Did it in the Pretty Young thing colorway with the contrasting mini skein of the aqua blue that came with it. The heals are knit from some of my yarn from when I was dying. I have a bunch of little shop samples I sent out to potential shops and so I caked up my favorite of these: Salmon Run colorway and knit the heal. Have just  enough in one shop sample to knit one heal.

In Session

  • Bow Tie by the Knit Picks Team. Yarn: Jill Draper Makes Stuff Esopus in the Sap[hire colorway.  Needles: Knitters Pride on size 1US/2.25mm –this is the bow tie that my dog will be wearing at the wedding in his official capacity of ring bearer.
  • The Wedding Necktie by Susan B. Anderson Yarn: Quince and Company chickadee ing the peacoat colorway (this is the exact yarn and color that Susan used in her pattern). Knitting needles: Addi dpns 5us/3.25mm. This will be the tie that My Guy wears at the wedding. Using his favorite tie as a model. The amazing hotpinksocks gave me this lead and I am eternally grateful to her for it as everything about this pattern is perfection for the yarn choice to the designer (who doesn’t love Susan?) it is all just perfect!
  •  Wedding sweater: Cecila by Elin Berglund. Knit up three swatches one in the hedgehog fibers monarch colorway and two in Sweet Georgia Yarn Tough Love Sock in the Passionfruit colorway. Unfortunately the hedgehog fibers got gauge but the lace was lost in the colorway. Haven’t gotten gauge with the Sweet Georgia yarn but the stitch definition is amazing. I plan on knitting the body on size 2us needles and the ribbing on 1.5 or 1us.
  • Wedding Socks: Blueberry waffles socks by Sandy Turner turned the heel on the first sock. Used my Lolo Did it in the Pretty Young thing colorway with the contrasting mini skein of the aqua blue that came with it. The heals are knit from some of my yarn from when I was dying. I have a bunch of little shop samples I sent out to potential shops and so I caked up my favorite of these: Salmon Run colorway and knit the heal. Have just  enough in one shop sample to knit one heal.
  • Pom Pom Garland. Using the Pompom maker from clover I am using vairious lonely single skeins of worsted weight from my stash. If anyone is interested in a worsted weight mini swap let me know!

Treatment Planning

  • Christmas Ornaments anyone??? In particular I am looking to make mini socks for the tree per My Guy’s request. If you have any suggestions of where to find Christmas colorways from indie dyers feel free to list it in a comment below or in the Ravelry group:)
  • Still Planning on: After all the wedding knitting my reward is going to be On the Spice Market by Melanie Berg. I am going to use this gorgeous mini set from my favorite local dyer: Three fates Yarns. The main body will be this Black Trillium fingering weight in the Mosetail colorway.
  • My Guy’s son is entering the military this next month. I knit him a hat for Christmas this last year and now he has requested that I knit him a pair of socks. We raided my stash and he picked Lion Brand Sock-Ease in the Toffee colorway. I have 2 skeins of 438 yards each so I was thinking of knitting him some boot socks.
  • Also My Guys mother has requested that a scarf this year…I hate knitting scarfs, but it is his mother so, sigh, I will do it. No official plans or yarn picked out for that yet.

In My Tool Box

  • Received the last shipment in the club from Quaere Fibres It is gorgeous!
  • Bought a sweaters worth of Cascade 220 in pink and blue colorways. Got these on a steal of a deal which makes everyone happy am I right?
  • Got a beautiful letter from my penpal:)
  • Purchased an Ikea doo-dad to hang my hand knits when I wash them.
  • And the most special of all!: I received a beautiful gift of a DPN minder from Stephanie at The Rusted Stitch on Etsy It made my heart go pitter pat!!!

Consultation

We are having 2, yes 2, giveaways!!!!!

  • You tube Subscriber Giveaway! Once we have reached the golden number of 100 subscribers on You Tube then I will open a thread in the Ravelry Group, as well as post a special blog post for entries. You’ll have 2 opportunities to win here!
    • #1 become a member of the Revelry group and post in the “100 Subscribers Giveaway” thread. Your post will be something regarding
      • things you like about the Podcast
      • things you would like to see changed
      • See more of…
      • or just say howdy lol
      • Must be a member of the group all guest posts will be disqualified.
    • #2 On the blog I will post a special post just on the giveway. Go there and leave a comment, again using the topics listed above and you will be entered into the drawing to win!

A beautiful Skein of Handspun yarn: sport weight, approximately 300 yards of a mystery fiber lol I promise it’s lovely stuff and super squashy and fondle worthy 😉

Another winner will receive a DPN needle minder form the wonderful Stephanie of The Rusted Stitch  squeeee!!!

Each time we hit a golden number of subscribers we will repeat the giveaway (prizes will vary). Golden numbers are

  • 100
  • 250
  • 500
  • 750
  • 1000…etc

 

  • The KAL KAL/ Double Dip KAL! So many KALs so little time. I wanted to start this thread for all of you out there who find themselves aching to enter, and win, a KAL but never seem able.  This will be an ongoing giveaway with new prizes every month! Here’s how it will work.
    • Join the Ravelry Group and Post in the corresponding months KAL thread. Your post will contain the following information:
      • A synopsis of the KAL that you are participating in,
      • A link to the KAL
      • Start and end dates for the KAL
      • A picture of you work in progress (WiP). Now you do not have to finish the project I just want to see that you are actually participating in it. No picking out yarns and posting a pick of that or a pic of 2 rows of a started project, no I’m talking actual work done on it! 🙂
    • Each post must be ongoing for the month in which you post to the thread.
    • Again guest post will be disqualified from the winning draw at the end of each month.
    • Post as many times as you want…that is you get 1 post for each KAL that you are entered into. If you are working on 1 KAL, enter 1 post in the thread, 10 KALs gets you 10 posts and 10 chances to win!
  • What will you win you ask?…
    • 1 lucky winner will receive a DPN needle minder from The Rusted Stitch along with a skein of Spud & Chloe sweater base in a lovely burnt orange (perfect for fall)
    • Annnnnd lucky winner #2 will win 4, yes 4! skeins of Araucania yarn in their Nuble base which is a single ply. That’s over 900 yards of yarn!

So everybody come on down and join in! I hope you enjoy the episode and spread the word!

Until next time:)

Leave a Reply

