Episode 15: Socks-R-US

 

Introduction:

  • Host: Emily
    • Akamillie on Ravelry
    • Akamillie907 on instagram
    • Ravelry group: AndersMill Knits Podcast

Review Notes

Well Watson is now home safe and sound with us. His surgery went well and the mass on his eye was removed. As an added bonus they cleaned his teeth so he has minty fresh breath for now! We will be watching him closely over the next few days to weeks to make sure things heel properly but I am optimistic for it all 🙂

The past two weeks saw a lot of knitting, re watching of a fun show called “Schitt’s Creek,” with my husband as well as a re watching some old ut good ones like “Sister Act,” and “Sister Act II.” These are shows that bring back fond memories of my teenage years.

We also were able to get out and take lots of walks as there was a break in the rain clouds now and then. On one memorable day we actually got in two walks gasp! It was amazing I do so love to go for walks 🙂

In other news, we have a winner for the March Double Dip KAL so watch the episode for that news. In addition, I have opened the Ravelry thread for the April Double Dip KAL so head on over there and join the fun!

Salted Almond Recipe

7 oz
Preparation time: 40 minutes
Ingredients:
7 oz almonds 
4 tbsp salt
  1 cup boiling water
Instructions:

Step 1: Boil 1 cup of water and dissolve 4 tablespoons of salt in it. Turn off the heat.

Step 2: Pour the almonds into the water and let them soak for about 20 minutes.

Step 3: Drain the water from the almonds. Place the almonds in an even layer on an oven tray/pan lined with baking paper.

Step 4: Sprinkle the almonds with some extra salt(optional) and bake them at 300 F for about 20 minutes.
Let cool. If so desire place almonds in wire strainer and shake to remove excess salt.

Case Notes

  • I have completed, 4, yes 4 socks from one skein of the  lovely Deep Distraction colorway from  Fibernymph Dyeworks self striping yarn in purples and teals. I am so excited to gift these!
  • I completed the pair of  ridge line socks for my grandmother for mother’s day ! The pattern is of my own design and it is called Alpine Ridge, it’s a simple welting technique and breaks up the straight stockinette nicely. Very please with this.
  • I also have yet another Half Object, or a HO. I have one half of the Rose City Rollers done for my sister in law (again for mothers day. I am using Panda Silk Solid color of orange and what I believe to be a skein of my Tumbleweed yarn in the teal colorway.  love these! Though the modification of the added roll on top did provide many a frustrating moment for awhile there, but all is worked out and I am onto the second sock:)

In Session

  • I have cast on a new sock project this week, this time for my dearest mother. I cast on the Speckled Space Socks in my Mad Tosh skein in the CARE colorway. I am in deep love with this pattern. On one hand I never want it to end and on the other I want to hurry and complete it so that she may open and cherish them come mother’s Day next month. Oh the Conundrum!
  • I have not put one stitch into my the Find Your Fade shawl. As soon as I am done with these socks though I am hitting that project hard!
One thought on “Episode 15: Socks-R-US

  1. Anvita Sinha says:

    Wow, I am totally impressed with how well you manage to pack your days, with your regular work, and house work, and such attractive knitting and also walks!
    Thank you so much for the recipe for the roasted almonds – these are just delicious! Can’t stop munching these…no wonder the pounds just keep on adding up on my frame :)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

